Why I am a Stay-at-Home Mom — Part 1

I love taking care of this little one

Why am I a stay-at-home wife/mom?  Don’t I have something better to contribute to society and the economy than changing diapers, cooking dinner, cleaning bathrooms, and making beds?  What do you consider to be a worthy contribution to society and the economy?  Wouldn’t I like to bring in more money so that we can live in a house with a yard or have better insurance?  Would you ever willfully choose (and work hard to make it happen) to forsake a promising career path in order to raise/teach your children and care for the home while your husband provides for the family?  How can I find fulfillment in taking care of a 5-month old?

I have looked forward to being a stay-at-home mom for such a long time and I have thoroughly considered the above questions.  I can say with confidence that staying at home to take care of Raymond, our children, and our house is more personally fulfilling than any career I could think of having.  Eve is named as such because she is the mother of all living (Genesis 3:20), so women are created to be fulfilled through nurturing their children and caring for their family.  So, why have I decided to stay at home instead of pursue a career?  I can say with great assurance that I know my place and role and worth is found in the home, caring for my family and doing all sorts of things that I will never be paid money for (making lunches, ironing shirts, staying awake with a sick baby, cleaning bathrooms – see Proverbs 31:10-31).  Of course, my ultimate and eternal worth is found through the sacrifice that Jesus Christ made so that I can be forgiven of my sins and adopted into God’s family, and this is why I find worth and fulfillment in being a homemaker (Titus 2:3-5) and deferring to Raymond’s leadership and direction for our family (Ephesians 5:22-33; Colossians 3:18-19).

First, let me say one thing about deciding to be a full-time stay-at-home wife/mom.  Raymond and I both understand that there are situations where it is required for the wife/mom to work for money in some capacity (either part-time, full-time, or from home), but we do have a strong conviction that the best possible situation for a family is that the wife/mom should focus her attention and mind on taking care of the home and family rather than pursuing a career or more money.  I would like to encourage those families who are in a situation where both parents are working outside of the home to start evaluating your intentions and motives for expecting the mom to bring additional income into the family.  Are you both working so that you can maintain a certain desired standard of living or is this a situation where the dad is physically disabled and, therefore, unable to work?  Additionally, there may be an excessive debt that cannot be paid off solely on the husband’s income or some situation of this nature.  If a certain standard of living is needing to be maintained then I would like to challenge you, for the sake of your family, to consider removing those luxuries so that the wife will be free to manage the household with excellence.  Perhaps downsizing the house to lower the mortgage or finding creative ways to save money on groceries or committing to eat more home cooked meals are means by which you can decrease your budget and live off one salary.  So to conclude this thought, I would just like to reiterate that Raymond and I are fully convinced that it is better for the family and more honoring to the Lord that the wife/mom can be primarily at home especially when there are children in the family.

As you may notice from the title of this post, I have broken this post up into more than one part.  How many exactly?….that is yet to be determined :)  I’m not very long-winded, so right now its only 2 parts.  So, I would like to save the next installment for explaining all of the reasons that I want to be a stay-at-home wife/mom.

Leave a Reply

